GuidesBM
← Back

Early Schooling Aid (BAP) 2027: How to Get It, RM200 (Proposed) & When It's Paid

Coloured pencils on a table with the title BAP 2027: RM200 per pupil proposed (Budget 2027), current 2026 rate RM150

Year-end school shopping adds up fast: uniforms, shoes, bags, workbooks, PTA fees. With three or four children, the budget goes quickly.

This guide collects what MOE and the Ministry of Finance have confirmed, and what has not been announced yet. We don't guess dates or amounts. Anything not yet official is marked clearly and linked to its source.

Key facts

2027 amount
RM200 per pupil, proposed (Budget 2027). Current official rate on MOE's site: RM150.
Who
Malaysian pupils in Year 1 to Form 5 (or equivalent) at schools on MOE's list. In 2026, Form Six students also received it.
How
The money goes to the school; the school pays pupils in cash or as credit to the pupil's account.
When
2027 date not announced yet. Timing and payment method depend on your child's school. The 2027 session starts 4 January 2027.
Official page
moe.gov.my/bantuan-awal-persekolahan
Contents
  1. What is BAP?
  2. 2027 vs 2026 amounts
  3. Who qualifies?
  4. Do you need to apply?
  5. When is it paid?
  6. Step by step
  7. Other aid
  8. Common mistakes
  9. Related DuitMap cards
  10. Questions
  11. Official sources (checked 25 Oct 2026)

What is Early Schooling Aid (BAP)?

According to MOE, BAP is one-off cash aid at the start of the year to help parents or guardians with school costs.

BAP 2027 vs 2026 amounts

In the Budget 2027 speech on Friday, 9 October 2026, the government announced BAP would rise from RM150 to RM200 per pupil for the 2027 session, for 5.3 million pupils at a cost of RM1 billion.

Why "proposed"?Budget measures still have to pass the Supply Bill 2027 in Parliament, and MOE's BAP page still says RM150 as of 25 October 2026. We'll update this guide when MOE updates its rate.
Item2026 session (official)2027 session (proposed, Budget 2027)
Per pupilRM150RM200
PupilsOver 5.2 million (JPN Sarawak, Dec 2025)5.3 million (Budget 2027 speech)
AllocationNo official figure we checkedRM1 billion
How paidCash at school (JPN Sarawak)Paid at school (Budget 2027 speech)
StatusOfficial on MOE's siteBudget 2027 proposal
2026 rate (RM150)RM300
If RM200 is approved (2027)RM400

Simple multiplication, not an official figure. The Budget 2027 speech itself mentions RM800 for four children.

Who qualifies for BAP?

MOE: Malaysian pupils in Year 1 to Form 5 or equivalent, at these school types.

School typeEligible?
Government schools (SK)Yes
Government-aided schools (SBK)Yes
Religious schoolsYes
Private schools registered with MOEYes
International and expatriate schoolsNo
Kolej PERMATAYes
Sekolah Bimbingan Jalinan KasihYes
Sekolah Integriti and Sekolah Henry GurneyYes
MRSMYes
Royal Military CollegeYes
Form Six (Form Six centres)Yes in 2026. For 2027, wait for MOE
Form Six noteMOE's BAP page still says "Year 1 to Form 5", but MOE's 9 July 2026 statement confirmed 96,013 Form Six students received RM150 in 2026. New students got it through their Form Six centre from 28 June to 27 July 2026, after registering. So for 2027, expect BAP (if it continues) after Form Six registration, not in January.

Budget 2027 also proposes a RM2,500 living allowance for Form Six students. That is separate from BAP.

Do you need to apply?

Honest answer: it depends on the school. MOE only says the money goes to schools and schools pay pupils. No parent portal or form is described. Some schools ask parents to attend and sign; some ask for copies of documents. The instructions come from your child's school.

Beware "register for BAP" linksNone of the official pages we checked mention applying for BAP through a third-party site. If a page asks for your bank account, password or OTP in BAP's name, close it.

When is BAP 2027 paid?

As of 25 October 2026, MOE has not announced the 2027 payment date. What is official:

So timing and payment method depend on your child's school: some hand over cash, some credit the pupil's account. Don't trust posts with exact dates and no MOE link.

Step by step: make sure your child gets BAP

  1. Checklist icon

    1. Check each child is eligible. Your child must be a Malaysian citizen at a school on MOE's list. For a private school, ask whether it is registered with MOE.

  2. School building icon

    2. Finish school registration. If your child starts Year 1 or changes school in 2027, make sure they are on the new school's records.

  3. Phone icon

    3. Update your phone number with the school. BAP notices usually come by letter, the class WhatsApp group or the school app.

  4. Calendar icon

    4. Watch for school notices ahead of the 2027 session (starts 4 January 2027). Timing and payment method depend on your child's school, so read the date, time and who must attend.

  5. ID card icon

    5. Attend and bring what the school asks for. If you can't attend, ask whether someone else may go for you.

  6. Receipt with tick icon

    6. Check you received it. If the school credits the pupil's account, ask the class teacher how the balance can be used. Keep any receipt.

  7. Question mark icon

    7. Not received? Ask the school first. If that doesn't solve it, contact MOE on 03-8000 8000 or [email protected], as listed on MOE's site.

Other school aid worth checking

Everything below is aid, not a loan. Each has a DuitMap card under Related DuitMap cards.

AidWhoAmountHow
MOE allowance for pupils with disabilities (EMBPK)Pupils with a JKM OKU card at government or government-aided schoolsRM150 a month; RM200 proposed (Budget 2027)Give the school a copy of the OKU card; the school credits the pupil's account
Zakat MAINPP: 2027 school-start schemePenang families with at least 2 children in school, income limit RM1,800 to RM3,000 by number of childrenNot statedForm at the counter; open 8 July to 7 August 2026 (closed)
MAIDAM school aidMuslim asnaf (poor and needy) with children in primary or secondary schoolNot statedApply online on the MAIDAM education foundation portal
Other states' zakatAsnaf, by each state's rulesVaries by stateApply to the state religious council or zakat board
STR and SARA BulananSTR 2027 recipients (households, elderly without a spouse, singles)SARA of up to RM150 a month proposed (Budget 2027): RM150 for households earning under RM2,500, RM100 for households earning RM2,501 to RM5,000, RM50 for elderly without a spouse and singles. Poor and hardcore poor eKasih households up to RM250 a monthSARA is credited to MyKad for basic goods, not cash; you must be approved for STR first. Non-STR recipients aged 18 and above get SARA MADANI of RM100 twice (before Aidilfitri and ahead of National Day)

Budget 2027 also allocates RM870 million for the Supplementary Food Programme (RMT) for over 800,000 pupils. RMT is run by schools.

Common mistakes that make parents miss out

Related DuitMap cards

Early schooling aid: RM200 proposed (Budget 2027)

RM150 (2026) · RM200 proposed

KPM – Bantuan Awal Persekolahan (BAP): One-off cash aid for Malaysian schoolchildren: RM150 in 2026, RM200 proposed (Budget 2027). Timing and payment method depend on your child's school.

MOE allowance for pupils with disabilities (RM150/month)

RM150 a month · RM200 proposed

KPM – Elaun Murid Berkeperluan Khas (EMBPK): RM150 a month (RM200 proposed, Budget 2027) for pupils with disabilities who hold a JKM OKU card, at government or government-aided schools.

STR

By household category

Sumbangan Tunai Rahmah (STR): Government cash aid for low and middle-income households. STR 2027 (Budget 2027 proposal, subject to approval): RM200 to RM1,600 a year for households, RM600 for seniors without a spouse. Applications are open all year.

SARA Bulanan (STR recipients)

RM50 to RM200 a month (MyKad credit)

SARA Bulanan (penerima STR): Monthly MyKad credit for STR 2026 recipients: RM50/RM100 a month, or RM100/RM200 for eKasih poor and extreme-poor households. For basic goods, not cash.

Apply for zakat aid (14 states)

Varies by state

Bantuan Zakat – direktori negeri (MyGOV): Official list of each state zakat body with "Apply" links.

Penang zakat aid (Zakat MAINPP)

Per MAINPP rules

Zakat Majlis Agama Islam Negeri Pulau Pinang (Zakat MAINPP): Apply for Penang zakat aid from Zakat MAINPP.

Terengganu zakat aid (MAIDAM)

Per MAIDAM rules

Majlis Agama Islam dan Adat Melayu Terengganu (MAIDAM): Apply for Terengganu zakat aid from MAIDAM.

Questions

How much is Early Schooling Aid (BAP) 2027?

Budget 2027 proposes raising BAP from RM150 to RM200 per pupil for the 2027 session. RM200 is still a proposal; the current official rate on MOE's site is RM150 per pupil.

When will BAP 2027 be paid?

As of 25 October 2026, MOE has not announced the 2027 payment date. The Budget 2027 speech says the aid is paid at school. Timing and payment method depend on your child's school. The 2027 session starts 4 January 2027, so watch for school notices.

Do I need to fill in a form to get BAP?

MOE's official page doesn't describe any parent application. The money goes to schools and schools pay pupils. If the school asks for documents or attendance, follow its instructions. Never give bank details or an OTP through a "register for BAP" link.

Do private school pupils get BAP?

Yes, if the private school is registered with MOE. International and expatriate schools are excluded. Pupils must be Malaysian citizens.

Do Form Six students get BAP?

In 2026, yes: 96,013 Form Six students received or will receive RM150, paid by Form Six centres from 28 June to 27 July 2026. MOE hasn't announced 2027 details yet, so check with the Form Six centre.

How is MOE's BAP different from zakat school aid?

BAP is federal aid through MOE, paid through schools. Zakat school aid is run by state religious councils for asnaf and must be applied for, for example Zakat MAINPP's 2027 school-start scheme (8 July to 7 August 2026).

Official sources (checked 25 Oct 2026)

See all guides →Every DuitMap guide in one place.

General information only, not financial, legal or investment advice. DuitMap is not affiliated with or endorsed by MOE, the Ministry of Finance or any agency or religious council named. 2027 figures marked "proposed" are still subject to approval. Confirm with your child's school or the official page. Disclaimer